Farro is an ancient grain and type of wheat, meaning it is not gluten-free. It has a nutty texture, is similar in appearance to barley and needs to be soaked (preferably overnight) before being cooked. It’s also high in vitamins and fibre.
Buy whole grain, if you can, and whizz in a food processor if a finer grain is required. Tuscans use farro to bulk up winter soups, and as the base for a version of risotto.
Farro is also known as emmer wheat and sometimes spelled with one ‘r’
Subscribe to our magazine
Subscribe to delicious. magazine for HALF PRICESubscribe
Join our newsletter
Packed with menu ideas, recipes, latest competitions and more...